Past Self and Future Self

past self future self

So the cool thing is…I’m working on something new. With a few fulls hanging out with agents, I decided to stop tinkering with my old novel, and work on other things in my life. One of those is a new novel. I’m once again not really working with an outline, which doesn’t seem to be a problem yet. My first chapter is definitely faster paced than my old one. Of course the new project is YA, so that might be why.

Anyway, my issue so far is this. When I wrote my first novel, I basically wrote to put down the bones of a story. The goal was to just see if I could write a full-length novel, that had a beginning, middle and end. Once I was about 1\3rd through the novel, my ability to write improved a lot. Partially because I wrote everyday, and therefore was in better “writing” shape (my waistline however…well let’s not talk about that!) the other thing that was different was that I knew the characters and the world I was writing in much better. So it was easier to write chapters that felt more fleshed out. I was so so ecstatic when I wrote my ending, and I thought I’d be able to do a quick revision and send it out to agents.

BOY WAS I WRONG!

My first draft was a story with a beginning, middle and end. It had great characters, wonderful moments, and a killer ending. The problem was….the beginning was a wreck. It was crude and poorly written. I despaired, wondering if the entire novel was actually like this. I flipped 100 pages into the novel, and soon saw that it was well crafted and much better than what I had started with. So I went to work heavily revising my first 100 pages. It wasn’t easy. I was angry with my past self for leaving my current self to deal with this mess. I swore never to do this again.

Funny thing? After writing only 2,000 words I can see I’m doing it again. Now it is better written than the first novel, but it is still crude. The character’s are definitely interesting, but I’ve not spent enough time with them to really get a feel for exactly how they feel and sound. It’s almost feels like they are in an opera where they play an exaggerated version of themselves. I am sure that, much like the last time, I will be able to better wield my keystrokes to turn these operatic icons into characters you can connect to on a true and personal level.

So to my future self I must say this: I know the beginning is rough, but you know these people so much better than me. So don’t be mad at me for not doing them justice. Just remember, without me, you’d never know them at all. Together, you and our even further future self will hopefully be able to bring our new found friends and enemies into the hearts of our readers.

3 Comments

  1. Rachael Dahl said,

    February 18, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    I can relate to this and realized the same thing about my current WIP.

  2. February 19, 2013 at 9:18 am

    I’m so glad you’re starting a new project. I can’t wait to see it. So glad you’re book is getting some nice reviews too. As for the beginning, keep writing then go back and kill your darlings. I know, easier said then done.

  3. kyoske said,

    February 19, 2013 at 9:47 am

    Katherine (Rufus): Yeah, I’m really thrilled. It’s funny, I used to think “kill your darlings” meant to delete a phrase (one a writer was particularly proud/fond of). I never have an issue with that. For me, it’s about ripping up the seeds that I planted to grow a novel. It is sad to revise or completely rewrite a beginning for me. Because that beginning led to me finding those characters. But I get now, that it is a necessary evil.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 61 other followers

