I’ve heard of dinner parties before….but never “flavor tripping parties”

Miracle Fruit

So tonight I am going to a “Flavor tripping party” held by a few friends of my boyfriend. It is called that, because it involves changing your taste buds by eating some “miracle fruit.” I wanted to be prepared for what will happen tonight, so I decided to head on over to Wikipedia which has an excellent article.

Basically the story is, that there is a fruit that people used to eat before meals or taking medicine that was bitter, so that it would taste sweet. According to Wiki:

“The berry is sweet, and contains an active glycoprotein molecule, with some trailing carbohydrate chains, called miraculin. When the fleshy part of the fruit is eaten, this molecule binds to the tongue’s taste buds, causing bitter and sour foods (such as lemons and limes) consumed later to taste sweet. This effect lasts between thirty minutes and two hours.”

According to another blog. This is a new type of party for New Yorkers. This makes me feel a little less out of the loop. After all, it is NEW to New Yorkers at this point. I am excited to try beer that tastes like Chocolate, Tequila that tastes like lemonade,  etc.

I am excited to have my first “flavor trip.” and I will post a follow up letting you know how it went.

3 Comments

  1. tanglethis said,

    June 4, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    You are going to a flavor trip party! You’re so New York I can’t stand it… I read an article about it and YOU’RE DOING IT.
    I was just thinking about these parties last weekend because my brother and his lady were in town, and we went to have gelato (mmm) and then to have wine at Vintage. Our wines tastes so bitter because our gelato had been so sweet… I had never experienced that kind of weird taste conversion before.

    You must post about what it is like!

    P.S. You can take the annoying related posts off by going to Presentation on you toolbar, I think.

  2. kyoske said,

    June 4, 2008 at 8:36 pm

    Thanks! It no longer does that!

  3. drkjstr said,

    June 5, 2008 at 10:06 am

    Funny thing… I read this yesterday, then when I went to the nursery school today, I saw berries that looked really familiar. I looked and then thought of this post. Although the name that the lady told me was not the Japanese-ish version of miracle fruit, I think it is the same one. I had one berry (but nothing to eat after it) and I am thinking it goes along the same lines. Funny world.


Leave a Reply

