H.K. Cafe – Review

H.K. Cafe

Really my rating is 2.5 stars.

This place has a wonderful location, and a rather attractive atmosphere. So when I walked in I was thinking “4 stars!”

I had made reservations, but they didn’t ask me about them. They just sat us, so all the extra information I gave them regarding my dining experience was thrown out the window.

Then our waiter came along. He was fun, but scatter brained. I will be ragging on the service for this place for the remainder of the review, but I do understand our waiter had it hard. There seemed to only be 2 waiters in the entire place, and there was a team of 18 girls behind my date and I. So I get it, we are not as important as the tip he would get from them.

THAT BEING SAID!  The service was atrocious! Our waiter took our orders, but had a number of other people handle us. I think we were served by a dish boy, and the other waitress had to get our check. We waited 45 minutes after our plates had been cleared to get the check. On top of that, the waiter forgot a drink order completely! It was ridiculous.

So Bad service really hurts their star rating, but I am willing to give more stars for good food.

Alas, the food was boring. It wasn’t that it did not taste good, it just tasted very bland. There was no culinary surprise that would make me want to come back. All I could think was that I could have made it cheaper from home. The Chicken Paillard was dry, but the vegetables were well cooked. It was just not worth going back for.

So why 2.5? The drinks. The beverages at the bar are worth going to. Just don’t come in a hurry, nor come for the food. Just drink here.

2 Comments

  1. Tiffany said,

    June 10, 2008 at 9:40 pm

    You will have to remember that most food in the north (even in NYC) is significantly more bland than in the southern states. I’ve been in Texas for almost 6 years and only now can I handle a jalapeno, and that’s without the seeds. 🙂

  2. ecentipede said,

    June 11, 2008 at 6:45 am

    hallo. a certain comment on a certain recent meme reminded me to poke about here. this is a lovely design.

    i’m eager to read more reviews of ny dining places–hopefully you’ll hit on some of the places i know (i grew up in the suburbs but with city savvy family and friends…) i don’t know if i agree that northeast food is bland! granted i’m not that familiar with real southern style and we tend to cook with a lot of kick in our house… but i don’t remember bland.

    check out sevilla for some of the best paella you’ve ever had–it’s down on charles st and west 4th (we always got to it via the christopher st stop on the 1 because of the necessary side trip to li-lac chocolates or mcnulty’s tea shop, two of the places that i miss most.)


Leave a Reply

