General Update

Ellis Island

So it has been quite some time since my last post. Most of this was because I finally got a form of employment in the city. I now work in an internship designed to help me learn more about the legal side of immigration. It’s not a bad job, but it is a lot of work considering I do not get paid. However, with no pay comes a sort of freedom. I am able to take my time with assignments, and simply read through the history of files I find interesting. This helps me learn “through osmosis” as my attorney tells me. It is true, I feel I’ve learned a lot about how legal correspondence works. This week I finally got to work on my first motion. It was difficult, and the lawyer and I had some differences of opinion (although he found mine charmingly naïve) about what should be included. As I suspected, much of what is “absolutely essential” in law school is never used in actual practice. However, that is not to say what I’m learning in school is not valuable. I am working in an office which has a reputation and a lot of experience, so some things are assumed by both the lawyers and judges that would not be assumed of me as a law student. I really like learning about legal writing, and I am glad to have some extra practice.
Unfortunately, I do not know a lot about Immigration Law to write in the way I want. This means I have the attorney filling in large gaps.
Aside from my work, life in New York is wonderful! Brian and I won a $40.00 bar tab on Monday. We were listed as “Dick Pearson & Co.” and were so intoxicated by the end that we didn’t even get to use the entire tab! I told the bartender if he could keep the rest as a tip he should, if not he should buy himself some drinks! To learn more about my TRIVIA experience you should look at the blog of the guy who runs it. It is called East Village Idiot.

1 Comment

  1. Tiffany said,

    July 21, 2008 at 7:02 pm

    LMAO. You should so use Dick Pearson as your professional name. ^_^


Leave a Reply

