Breaking Dawn

 

Cover of "Breaking Dawn"

Cover of "Breaking Dawn"

 

Breaking Dawn

 

So I recently finished reading the fourth and final installment of the “Twilight” series. This book was an easy read, and finally pushed some boundaries. I am trying to keep this SPOILER free since I have so many friends who read it. So I will say that it was interesting to see a portion of the story told from Jacob’s perspective. I thought Stephanie Meyers writing from Jacob’s point of view had a bit of a rocky start, but by the end she had certainly been able to help us really see through his eyes. It was also smart as seeing it through Bella’s eyes would have been boring or painful.

            Speaking of Pain! This book had one part that made me put it down. IF you are wondering what it was, e-mail me and I’ll tell you. Otherwise, I am sure that you won’t have to guess if you read it.

            The first part of the book was a dream come true for me, but I think most readers will get a little tired of hearing about how perfect things are for Bella and Edward for nearly 100 pages. It reminded me of the first 35 minutes of the “Sex and the City” movie.

            Other than that, the plot isn’t bad. The conflict has the stakes higher than I ever dreamed, and a lot of things certainly seemed to have been planned by the author far in advance. It was a pleasure to read, despite the last 1\4th of the book being similar to a video game series of love called Suikoden.

            Although many have criticized Meyer for planting (consciously or subconsciously) a heightened and almost Mormon-like set of morality in the books this book will most likely not change your mind. However, despite the incredibly romantic notions found in the book (beautiful vampire wanting to wait for marriage or Werewolf who could overpower anyone and take anything prefers to practice patience) what I really love about the books in Meyers writing style. Her use of description seems perfect to me, and whereas it might seem over done to some, it rings perfectly with me. I never really feel like my vision of the characters is that far off from the authors. Aside from Edward, as I feel my version is a little gayer. This makes me feel happy, and I feel like whoever I discuss the books with we will be able to talk with a since of familiarity. It is like two strangers talking for the first time only to find out they have a friend in common.

 

Drawing of Meyer as a Vampire

Drawing of Meyer as a Vampire

2 Comments

  1. Faith said,

    August 8, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    I almost had to put the book down, too. I’m fairly sure we’re talking about the same part, ha, it was horrific!

  2. Girl said,

    August 8, 2008 at 6:55 pm

    Awesome! I love this post!


Leave a Reply

