Left over

So this is something I’ve been working on. It’s not very good, and has not been changed in a year. However, due to illness and stuff I’ve not been able to do more writing. Comments?

Edward

It’s easy enough to find trouble when you are bored, and on South Padre Island you can get bored pretty quickly. The spring and summers bring in tons of people, but few people settle down here, and so when you live here it can get quite lonely if you don’t fit in with the locals. Unfortunately, I haven’t fit in with many people since we moved here.

My mom decided that the best way to escape from haunting Alliance Nebraska was to run a small bed and breakfast here in South Padre, and so we moved here a few years back. I grew up in Alliance, which is famous for being cold and having “Carhenge” where some artist decided to memorialize his father by making a Stonehenge replica out of cars, but I didn’t really have many friends. The people I hung out with were mainly because we went to the same school since we were in kindergarten, and we were the same age. In Nebraska, a history from childhood is all you need to have people to hang out with.

The first time I saw South Padre Island I felt I’d come to paradise, but had forgotten to appropriately pack. We drove up to the place my mom was going to fix up, and when I opened the creaky French doors onto the balcony the July sun hit my rugby shirt, which I’d already rolled the sleeves up, and I had to discard it just so I wouldn’t die when I lugged my big steamer trunk in what would later become “my room.” My pale skin, which I preferred to describe as alabaster, looked ridiculous on that balcony with the tanned beach bodies on the beach below as a background. My mom laughed at the juxtaposition saying it reminded her of one of those “which of these is not like the other” problems you find in the highlights for kids magazines at the doctors office. In truth, my life has felt that way even before we moved. In Nebraska it was easier to fit in, because I was amongst people who had seen me grow into weirdness, but the people of South Padre were not their to witness this historical progression, and so I’m rarely approached.

My first weeks on the island were perhaps the loneliest, my mother was busy with contractors and seeing to getting the house repaired, so I thought it was a good time to get to know the area. South Padre isn’t very big, but when your walking the whole concept of exploration excited me. I felt like I was an explorer, I’d never seen so much sand and the water was so clear. Unfortunately it was difficult to enjoy all of South Padre’s beauty because of the tourists who were there. It was strange to hate tourists considering some of them knew the area better than me. I was more or less annoyed at their sense of entitlement, as if South Padre was only there when they needed it, but I couldn’t look at it the same way.

I am however not completely alone, I’ve got two partners in crime which have had similarly been afflicted by both boredom and the ostracization of the locals. The first is Julia, she and I met on one of my adventures exploring the island. I walked into the coffee shop she worked at, and after looking me up and down I’ll never forget her first words to me “I hate tourists.” An attack that I assumed was supposed to cause me to go away, but since I was technically a local I shot back “I know, they have so much promise but then they just leave.” she smiled and asked me what she could offer me. Apparently I had impressed her, which is no easy task, and she gave me my latte for free. I remember sitting in the shop watching her completely dressed in black save the required white apron, which gave her a French maid look, as she seemed to waltz about the café and attend to her regular patrons and blatantly snub any tourists. I had stayed there all afternoon watching out the window at the town, which was now my home. I wrote in my journal all day trying to make sense of the situation I found myself in. I wrote more when I first arrived in South Padre, my Mom wasn’t really around to talk to, and so without an ear to listen I felt writing things down made me look a little less crazy than talking to myself. I was lost that afternoon writing in my journal about how I was bizarrely missing my friends in Nebraska, and then I heard Julia again.

“You have to get out,”

“What?” Still shocked by her bluntness.

“We’re closing, you don’t have to go home, but you can’t stay here,”

“Oh…sure.” I sighed and grabbed my bag. Julia stopped me at the door, and gave me a very shocking hug. As her lips neared my ear she whispered “wait for me out back” in a voice so sexually charged that one could not help but imagine her perfectly pink lips whispering them even if you couldn’t see them.

Not sure why, I did as she said. Twenty minutes later she walked outside the back door with the setting sun as her backdrop. Since she was dressed in black it was like watching a shadow walking on a mirror their features melted in the sun masking which part of her was flesh and blood and which part was only shadow. She smiled and slipped her arm around mine, and started walking towards the beach without saying a word.

“Where are we going?” I asked after a few steps.

“If I told you it would ruin it.” She said without a glance at me.

We walked along the beach for over an hour without speaking. The silence was oddly enough nerve wracking and I could hear my own heart beat thump louder and louder this stranger led me further into unknown beach territory. Thankfully Julia made a sharp turn towards a dilapidated dock. The closer we got I could see someone was starting a fire on the beach. Julia unhooked her arm…and embraced this stranger without a word. The boy stood 6 feet tall sporting shaggy dark red hair, sinisterly dark eyes, and a scrappy build with muscles he seemed to have inherited rather than earned. Julia finally decided to speak, and introduced herself to me.

“I’m Julia, and this is Dakin.” She said indicating to the guy she had brought me to.

“I’m Edward.” I said nodding and putting my hands in my pockets.

“Ed it is.” Julia laughed.

“No, it’s actually Edward.” I hated the name Ed. It made me think people saw me as some country yokel, and being from Nebraska that wasn’t exactly a far jump for people to make.

“Edward.” Dakin said. His voice was gruff and frightening low, as if he had just had his voice change and he was still working on getting the pitch to sound normal.

“Edward” Julia repeated after Dakin in her sultry tone.

“So what do you do here?” I asked.

“We usually fuck.” Said Dakin as he put his arm around Julia his hands falling onto Julia’s breasts, which were immediately slapped away.

“We do not! We’re not like that. Uhg you ruin everything.” Said Julia with a heavy sigh.

“Sorry babe. You didn’t exactly script this out for me.” He said with a throaty chuckle.

“Script what out?” I asked confused and considering running.

“Nothing. We don’t really do anything out here but talk and drink. It’s just the only place on this fucking island that isn’t covered with tourists or snotty locales. People think it’s ugly because the wood is so rotted.” Julia explained.

“Really? I like it. It’s the only thing on the island I’ve seen that looks like it’s been here for longer than a decade.” I said admiring the crumbling pier.

“Yeah, South Padre is generally interested in things looking clean. I’ve seen piers that even the spiders webs look like they were manufactured.” Dakin said.

“So what are we supposed to be doing exactly?” I wondered as an open question.

“It’s your initiation.” Said Julia

“Into what exactly?” I asked.

“Well…it doesn’t have a name. Basically, it’s just an unofficial gathering that happens each Friday. It’s a good way for us to make sure we don’t become hobbits or something.” Dakin explained.

“Hobbits?” I asked.

“Tolkein.” Was Julia’s answer.

“No, I know what a hobbit is. I just didn’t know people could become hobbits. Is there something in the water?” I joked.

“I mean that we make a point to not just be alone all the time. It’s rare to meet someone who isn’t a tourist or doesn’t have that local charm. So…Julia and I have kept each other company on Friday nights to assure we retain such individuality.” Dakin explained.

“I see…so what do I have to do to be ‘initiated’ into this club?” I asked as I sat down on a piece of drift wood feeling like I could finally relax.

“You’ve got to tell us something secret from start to finish.” Julia said.

“What?” I asked as I stalled for time. Why is it whenever someone asks you for a secret the worst one is always what comes to mind rather than something silly and easy like cheating on a 4th grade math assignment?

“Well…the night I met Dakin we exchanged secrets, and since then we’ve been bonded. I figure the same will happen if you tell us a secret. If it makes you feel better you’ll hear ours tonight too. The same secrets Dakin and I exchanged 2 years ago.” Julia said.

“Julia! That’s hardly fair. Those aren’t secrets anymore…after all we know each others. Tonight I think is a night where we all must share something truly new. Besides I’m sure you’ve not told me everything.” Said Dakin seemingly taking advantage of the situation.

“Well…I…you’re right. Very well….new secrets for all, and just to show you how we want it done…Dakin will be the first to tell tonight,” Said Julia carefully providing a conversational checkmate for Dakin.

“Heh….touché darling. Very well I’ll start.” Dakin said as he sat down and removed his shirt exposing his pale muscled torso. My eyes instantly flashed to his abdomen where a thin scar ran from his lower rib to his muscled hip. [Apollo or Adonis Belt is the term http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apollo’s_belt]

Dakin

“I got this when I was 13, when I lived in Seattle. On most days it rained, and so I spent most of my time indoors with my best friend Blair. Blair and I had met when we were alphabetically arranged to sit next to each other in second grade. I remember the first day of school my parents were out of town, and my aunt didn’t believe me when I said I was too sick to go to school. I ended up throwing up all over my desk, and Blair’s. However it all oozed over onto the really bitchy girl’s desk, and we became friends once I got over the flu. We both hated out teacher, and spent the entire year planning her demise, but I think the worst we did was writing stories about a terrible teacher who tormented her students, but seemed really nice to the parents. After 2nd grade I was moved to a private school, but we saw each other almost every day because we lived on the same block.

So one weekend Blair and I went on a camping trip with his Dad. Blair’s Dad was great, he was divorced and didn’t seem to care if he ever had another date again. He was messy, always ordered out, and would let us cuss as much as we wanted. He always said any woman worth dating was one who’d find his lifestyle charming rather than disgusting. Anyway, he drove us all out to Bank Lake and we set up camp, and spent the day hiking around on the trails. That night we made the best steak and onions I’ve ever had, by cooking them in foil over the flames of our campfire. I’ll never forget Blair’s Dad going on and on about how good I’d made them. Apparently I had a knack for knowing when they were medium rare. I remember it was the first night I tasted beer. Blair and I were allowed to split one, so long as we didn’t tell our moms, and so we did. We both thought it was disgusting, but we drank it anyway just so we could be manly. That night we slept outside, and I don’t think I’ll ever forget the way the moon looked. It was that crazy thing where the moon looks all orange, like it was beginning to rust. Blair and I stayed awake in our sleeping bags just creating some mythology about how the moon became that way. Late that night I heard the distinct crunch of a pine tree being snapped in two, and I was afraid it would be a bear or a wolf or something. So I got up, and in the haze of the moon I saw my friend Blair completely naked peeing. It was a little strange, but I then I the bizarre same urge, and so I wondered up next to Blair and started to pee as well. After a few seconds I realized Blair was shaking, and I looked at him and saw he was crying. I asked him what was wrong, but his mouth was so tight as if he was hoping to completely choke his sobs to death. I didn’t know what to do, so I just went back to my sleeping bag and after a few minutes Blair came back. He poked me, and he still wasn’t wearing any clothes. I sat up and Blair just got into my sleeping bag with me. It was the first time I’d ever been so physically close with a naked boy, and Blair just wrapped his arms around me. He was still shaking, and I didn’t know what was wrong with him. We just sat there, and I remember Blair leaning his head towards mine as if we were going to kiss, but at that moment there was a noise, and Blair shot out of my sleeping bag into his own. I sat up wondering what had made the noise, when I saw this bear cub wander into our camp. I was so freaked I just froze, which is good since Bears leave you alone if you play dead, but he had already seen Blair move. I decided to try and help by making a run for the tent Blair’s dad was sleeping in, but I only got to half way there. The bear lunged at me and hit me in the side with it’s paw, and I screamed. Blair’s dad was there in seconds, and he took an air horn he had with him and blew it. The bear became alarmed and reared up and I thought he was going to fall on me, but the bear turned and ran. Blair’s dad picked me up, and took me to the hospital. I remember that when I was there they had to take my clothes off to put me in one of those gowns, and this really hot nurse, who looked like she walked out of playboy, was my nurse. She helped me shower one day, and I’d never been naked in front of anyone but my mom when I was little. I was all shy, because I got this biggest hard-on looking at her. She smiled and acted nonchalant but she let her hands linger around my cock, and it felt so good. I remember I came right there in the shower, and she giggled. It was my first handjob. So when I look at this scar…I think about both Blair and that hot nurse. Blair didn’t speak to me much after that…but later he ended up coming out. I think the bear attack traumatized him a bit, but he never talked about it. Most people know about the bear part, but I’ve never told anyone about Blair or that nurse.

Leave a Reply

