Shapes

I've thought each of these statements more than once.

So, recently I’ve gone back to the gym. I’m mainly doing it for healthy normal reasons.

  • It helps me work off stress from exams,
  • it is physically satisfying,
  • I feel less guilty about eating bad “study food.”

However, I also have those little voices in my head telling me:

  • “Work out, your fat!”
  • “You’re going back to Arkansas for Christmas. Do you want everyone to wonder why your still fat?”
  • “Maybe if you work out, you won’t be as tempted to eat.”
  • “Maybe you should stop eating lunch again.”
  • “If you go to the gym more, you won’t avoid mirrors as much.”
  • “People hire attractive people. Don’t you want a good job?”

Of course, through years of personal growth I’ve got plenty of wonderful coping mechanisms to battle these evil thoughts, but that doesn’t mean they are gone. It just means I don’t think of them as the gospel like I did when I was younger.

My friend TangleThis turned me onto another blog “Shapely Prose” She described it as:

The women who write it are active to varying degrees:  one is working on yoga certification, I think one is a runner, another has a dance class, etc.  And they are all overweight or obese by BMI standards.  And they write this very smart blog, which I read because I also have to be reminded to do things because they feel good and not because of the fantasy of being thin (“if I were thinner, I could get ____”… or, in your case, “when I was thinner, I was ____”).

So I reviewed the blog. I like what I read, and I like what these women are doing. Therefore I thought I’d give a shout out to their blog. I am always happy to see how people are really starting to recognize how manipulative the media is about “ideal beauty.” It is nice to see that whereas I will never look like:

male-body

I could easily return to looking like:

Actual old photo of me

Actual old photo of me

If I worked at it. I chose that picture, because it is me, and it is not me when I was at my skinniest.

Well…off to burn off some stress/test anxiety at the gym.

7 Comments

  1. otaku said,

    March 12, 2010 at 5:05 am

    the man in the picture who is his head is not shown is a famous korean actor his name is Kwon-Sang-Woo

  2. August 27, 2010 at 4:24 pm

    […] I keep meaning to talk about this. A long time ago I wrote a post called “Shapes” and it is actually the most frequently visited post on my blog. Unfortunately, the reason […]

  3. Alex said,

    December 10, 2010 at 1:29 pm

    Not meaning to contradict what you say but I strongly believe that those (mainly your age) who dont have a body like that actor is because they dont believe they can get it.
    I used to be 250lb when I was 14, I was severely overweight (not to mention highschool was a pain). I was determined I wanted to have a fit body though.
    I am 22 now and I model, i shredded all the fat and feel better about myself.
    Now, I’m not saying you shouldnt feel happy with your body regardless of what it is like, not trying to fit into the “standard” (we all know thats BS), but if you wanted to look like that, you can.

  4. kyoske said,

    December 14, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    Alex: I am happy to see you read my blog, but I am not quite sure you read it very well. I don’t think it is impossible for me to have a similar body to Kwon-Sang-Woo. Although at 29 it is pushing it a little. I do believe that to get that body I would have to do things to my body that would be detrimental to my health in order to achieve and maintain it.

    I congratulate you on your achievement of shedding excess weight, and I come at it from a point of absolute understanding. At your age I got to a weight I was comfortable with (although everyone else was made uncomfortable by it) and I maintained that body well into my twenties. I swore I would never let it go, but it happened. Life got in the way, and I didn’t have enough energy/hours to maintain living my life and looking a certain way.

    I thank you for attempting to encourage me to obtain whatever body I might want, but the purpose of my post was that even if I felt I could, I wouldn’t really want a body like Kwon-Sang-Woo. I don’t personally feel the payoff would be enough for me. If it is for you, then I am happy for you. I just have other things to do, so I would like to find a way to lose some excess weight I have gained, but also maintain most of the life I have built in my latter twenties.

    I don’t particularly regret having “let myself go.” I just wish that getting back into a shape I enjoy was easier. But as you say, working out to be proud of your body isn’t going to always be easy. In that I hope we can both agree.

  5. LK said,

    March 28, 2011 at 8:29 pm

    It’s all down to your motivation and determination.
    Just one hour session, two or three times a week is more than enough to get a relatively a fit body. The trick is constant input.
    And the whole process is all beneficial for you: better looking body, self-esteem, better time management, healthier diet, increase in sex appeal, and more importantly the feeling that you can achieve anything, i.e. confidence.
    Don’t you agree all these are beneficial for your life? So how’s the payoff not worth your effort? Just a few hours a week, and strong motivation, that’s all you need.
    If you’re consistent, over the period of time, the result will be outstanding.
    So stop making excuses and doubting yourself. Get a notepad, set specific targets and get on with it every time you go to gym.
    “oh it takes too much of my time, ive got to get on with my life, blah blah”
    3 hours are less than 2 percent of your weekly time. If you can’t do it, the blame is on you being a weak mind, but NOT on the process of getting it.
    Get that right.

  6. kyoske said,

    March 29, 2011 at 4:08 am

    Dear LK,

    Thanks for posting. This blog post is almost 3 years old at this point. I updated my thoughts on it here: https://kyoske.wordpress.com/2010/08/27/body-stuff/

  7. February 3, 2014 at 9:18 am

    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It is the little changes that produce the largest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

