sometimes you have to kill your babies

baby-with-bathwatermid-size

Someone once told me that “sometimes you have to kill your babies” meaning that sentences or moments you are attached to sometimes must be sacrificed in order to make a story better. As to my previous post, I have decided to skip all of the crap of getting my characters to the bar. It is a flashback and no important information is gained aside from a description of Art.

I am also considering changing the viewpoint to 3rd person.

2 Comments

  1. tanglethis said,

    January 21, 2009 at 11:31 am

    Stephanie said “Don’t fall in love.” And she said it with that characteristic expression of hers, the one with the big smile on the verge of a giggle, like fiction writing was the most delightfully ridiculous thing and falling in love would be taking it too seriously.
    It’s good advice. I fall in love anyway, though.

  2. kyoske said,

    January 21, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Oh…I guess she said that to me in our meeting then. I certainly remember the phrase as I was unsure what she meant. I thought she was going all Jonathan Swift on me.


Leave a Reply

