Message in Wait

I do not check my e-mail during pilates but I would if I could.

I do not check my e-mail during pilates but I would if I could.

So I was thinking today. Why is it that e-mail is so charming in fiction. You know where characters come in and find a message waiting for them on their computer. I thought about this for a few moments, and I decided the reason it is so charming is because the message has been waiting there a long time. My e-mail is less charming most of the time, because I check it constantly. So it is more like delayed instant messenger than an easier/cheaper version of snail mail.

Characters in fiction are often busy, otherwise they would be boring characters, so when they come home from their dramatic life, and find a little bit of saved drama on their computer it is interesting. I wonder if my e-mails would feel more special if I didn’t check it as often. I wonder if people would write more if they knew I might not be so quick to respond.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

