Sometimes Coming out seems unnecessary

05_Flatbed_1 - JUNE

So, it should pose no shock to anyone that I was an Adam Lambert fan. He was a musical theatre singer, who was in Wicked, who could sing high notes well, and he was pretty. What could make him more interesting to me? The fact he was so obviously gay while singing on American Idol. While this was something that certainly made me pay attention to this season of American Idol. It is not news.

Everyone knew, my parents who refused to acknowledge that I was gay knew, and I assume everyone else did too. Therefore, while I am so glad I have a famous, attractive, talented, singer out there to look up to and feel a kindred spirit with, I honestly find this whole “reveal” coverage completely annoying. If Rolling Stone was going to have Kris Allen on the cover claiming to be gay…that would be news. Glorious…sexy…news. The cover could feature he and Adam shirtless and making out. Anyway, Adam “coming out” to anyone who could not tell is not really interesting. I found his story about being at burning man more interesting than his statement that he identifies his sexuality as gay.

I am looking forward to Adam’s album, and he is the first American Idol I have would pay to see in concert. That said, why does Adam look so uncomfortable on that Rolling Stone cover? I mean I would be uncomfortable with a snake going up my thigh, but that doesn’t seem to be his problem. Thoughts?

2 Comments

  1. Kathy said,

    June 12, 2009 at 10:36 am

    I think he trying to look sexy. I think he is pulling it off too lol I was so happy with the final 2. Either way I was good. Look forward to both albums. We ended up with a very talented musican singer songwriter and a great live performer. best of both worlds.

  2. tanglethis said,

    June 28, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    I know I’m a hundred years late on this one, but I just wanted to throw in… maybe he wanted to come out publicly because he wanted to announce his sexuality on his terms, not in answer to all the questions and assumptions that were inevitably posed to him. I think, too, that there’s something questionable about the idea of “being able to tell” when someone’s gay… I know there’s a certain amount of pride and pleasure in being able to look at someone and think “Yeah, s/he’s on my team,” and it’s also true that there are signs that people use deliberately to let people know. (Remember when Bunny was like, “What do I have to do to let people know I’m queer? Shave my head?”) But at the same time there’s not really a fixed quantity of what “gay” is, that means something different to everyone, so even if you could tell someone is gay then what, really, do you know about them?

    I think I’m trying to say that the whole kerfluffle about celebrity sexuality is ridiculous in the first place, and I think Adam was trying to make the best of it – if he’d come out up front, then he’d be defined in terms of his sexuality, but he if kept quiet forever, he’d be “closeted”… what’s a guy to do?


Leave a comment