Something sweet

Currently I am baking an old recipe, and trying to fix it. If it turns out as well as the dessert I made for New Years Eve, I’ll post that recipe too. In any event, I made a beautiful lamb dish for New Years Eve, but my dessert was the true star of the meal that evening. Since I don’t consider myself good at baking, I was shocked to find that I had made such a tasty dessert, so I thought I would share the recipe.

Apple Bread Pudding

Time: A little under 2 hours

Ingredients:

  • 1 pound (or 12 cups) of challah bread cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 5 tablespoons of butter
  • 2 large granny smith apples peeled, cored and cut into 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup of cognac or brandy
  • 5 large eggs, beaten
  • 3 cups milk
  • 2 tablespoons of Vanilla Extract
  • Powdered sugar for dusting

Step 1: Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Spray a ridged baking sheet with cooking spray and place the challah on it. Cook for about 15 minutes until toasted. It might help to take them out and move/stir them around once. Remove once golden and dry.

Step 2: In a large skillet or medium pot melt the butter. Reserve 3 tablespoons of the butter in small bowl. Now add the apples and 1\4 cup of sugar to the skillet and cook over a medium heat and stir for about 15 minutes. You want the apples to be soft and golden. Now add the cinnamon and cognac. Add 1\4 cup of sugar again and cook for 1 to 4 minutes until the the sauce is very syrupy. Remove from heat.

Step 3: In a large bowl, whisk the eggs, milk,vanilla, and remaining 3/4 cup of sugar.  Add the challah and apples and toss until evenly coated. Leave the challah pieces alone for about 10 minutes to allow them to soak up everything.

Step 4: Use 1 tablespoon of the reserved melted butter to grease an 8-by-11 inch baking dish. Add the bread pudding and drizzle the remaining butter on top.  Bake at 350 degrees  for 50 minutes to an hour, until the custard is set and the top is golden.  Remove from oven and dust with powdered sugar. Serve after you’ve let it cool for about 5-10 minutes.

4 Comments

  1. March 31, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    My wife says I need to make this ASAP!

    • kyoske said,

      April 2, 2011 at 9:32 am

      Let me know how it turns out. I’d love a real photograph of the dish!

  2. petit4chocolatier said,

    February 17, 2013 at 5:58 pm

    I saw this on Rufus’s Food and Spirit Guide and wanted to tell you how awesome it sounds and looks 🙂

    • kyoske said,

      February 18, 2013 at 8:48 pm

      Thanks so much. It’s one of the few desserts I make!


Leave a Reply

