A New Land

Since being in London, I’ve seen some amazing sights.  Most recently I was really intrigued and amazed by the Roman Baths in the city of Bath. The Roman bathhouse there was constructed around 60 A.D. and is a really impressive site to behold. From what I can tell, if you went to Bath a few years ago, you didn’t get the same experience tourists get today. Mine was a really in depth look, and I spent a little under 2 hours wandering around with the little audio guide.

By visiting these kinds of places, it is easier for me to imagine a place that has a different look and feel, than anything I’ve ever come into contact with. Some type of land that has a combination of multiple types of culture and architecture. Since my ability to watch television has been rather limited here, I’ve done a lot of reading, but I also found a website that lets you watch a lot of anime for free. I used to be a big anime nut, and I was always a bit amazed by the creators ability to imagine worlds so much larger and different from their own country.

When I was at Stonehenge, I was particularly interested in the “Sacrificial Stone” which is a stone that is stained a rusty red caused by rainwater acting on iron. It made me wonder whether C.S. Lewis came here, and whether it inspired him for the scene wherein Aslan dies on a stone table at the witches hand. I’m not sure if I remember it completely correct, but to my recollection in that scene the stone is still wet and red long after Aslan has gone.

There have been a lot of moments like that here, and although it doesn’t help me with the current book (which takes place exclusively in NYC) I thought it would be useful for me to write this little thought down somewhere 🙂

1 Comment

  1. Katherine said,

    April 19, 2011 at 3:18 pm

    So glad you guys got to see Bath and Stonehenge and that the audio tour was so indepth.


Leave a Reply

