Words of Wisdom?

So I haven’t been posting a lot here. I’m sure no one has noticed, but I felt the need to put something out in the larger universe to tell everyone I’m still here. I’ve been a bit more guarded about my work lately, because i think it is getting to a point where I should be. That said, here is something I thought I’d throw out there, and see what people thought.

“Yes. Thanks.” I say, but after I’ve stepped outside, I turn around. “Lycan, can I ask you something?”

“Of course.”

“What am I going to say when I get home?”

“Even the sturdiest of ships, bend and break in a storm. Repairs are quick and crude, but assure the journey can continue. When the seas are calmer, the crew works to refine and restore what they once had. They reinforce parts, to assure they never break again, but the new wood can take years to blend in with the rest.” Lycan replies, and while I ponder what he means, he simply shuts the door.

I think it is lovely, except for the word “parts” but i couldn’t think of something better. I would love suggestions.

Also, in case you missed my post on facebook. I am currently seeking Beta-readers for my nearly completed first draft. If you are interested, let me know.

2 Comments

  1. katherine said,

    October 3, 2011 at 10:44 pm

    Instead of saying parts could you use another word for the ship? Reinforce her hull perhaps to assure it never breaks again? I’m also thinking of playing with shore up instead of reinforce. Is that hokey?

  2. kyoske said,

    October 4, 2011 at 2:31 pm

    Hull was the word i was playing with. I think it works.
    Alas, while shore up is technically more accurate in the ship lingo, I am not sure it would have the same resonance with the character. Reinforce is used later in the story 🙂

    You are so wonderful to make a suggestion! When the first draft is done, and I’m through my first solid round of editing, I may have to beg you to read it 🙂


Leave a Reply

