Consequences of pushing hard

Today my word count was higher than expected, and while I was pleased with the fact that my story is progressing, I can already tell that a lot of what I wrote today will need a heavy revision. Usually this would deter me,  making me annoyed that to some degree i am rushing through parts. The timing of my novel is always something that trips me up, I am doing so many moments blow by blow, that I feel guilty about speeding up. Of course, even though my book only takes place over a few months, no one wants to read about every second of everyday. I understand that books sometimes have to do this, at least in the first draft, and giving myself permission has been a big weight off my shoulders.

I am definitely starting to see a light at the end of the tunnel. I haven’t exactly figured out how my climax is going to fit in, but it is definitely getting closer.

That said, I think my focus on word count hurt me a little today. I was starting to lose the ability at 1,450 words today, and I decided i should eat lunch (it being 2 pm) and take a walk. This practice really helped, but I believed I could push myself further than I really could. The result? Editing this later is going to be harder, and it might possibly paralyze me. I’ll have to figure out how to make it work.  Thus I left myself the following note:

[Author note: October 5, 2011– I wrote this, and I like a lot of it. That said, if this needs to be cut and redone, know that this is okay. Read your blog entry on this day.]

Today I wrote 1,864 words in my novel.

3 Comments

  1. katherine said,

    October 5, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    Getting it out is so important. Sometimes when you futz over every word it actually isn’t better at the time. I like writing so much that I don’t get so tied to every single phrase. It makes editing easier.

  2. kyoske said,

    October 6, 2011 at 11:22 am

    yeah, I agree. I’m responding to this to procrastinate (I’ll slap my hand for it later). I definitely am tied to very few phrases in my novel as it stands. I am pretty sure I will end up rewriting most of it, keeping the same basic idea/feel of the initial, but revising it into something more literary.

    I just wonder if yesterday I was a little too loose. It felt different than it had before. It was like I was trying to cheat. I couldn’t tell if I why i was trying to rush things as much as I was. Was it my writer instinct telling me it needs to happen? Or was it me trying to breeze past some of the final pieces before the climax?

  3. April 8, 2012 at 5:24 pm

    […] Keeping with my theme, I decided I needed more that one hot guy reading to top this post off, because I finished not one, but TWO full chapters of editing. I did this on Easter Sunday, which is probably a sin or something, because it was work, but I feel incredible. I was worried especially because my 2nd chapter had the following note at the top of it: [Author note: October 5, 2011 – I wrote this, and I like a lot of it. That said, if this needs to be cut and redone, know that this is okay. Read your blog entry on this day.] […]


Leave a Reply

