Word count fail!

So it is 3:00 p.m. today. Normally at this point I’ve written 1000+ words, but today I have yet to even open the document. This pretty much assures that I am not going to write anything today. This is really disappointing to me, as I have normally managed to work on my novel every day, but today it just was not going to happen. I Part of it is I don’t know how to end the scene I am working on. I know I need to do that in order to get onto the rest of the story which is so clear, but I can’t seem to forge the few feet of rail that connects the two tracks.

On days like this I try to tell myself not to worry too much. That things will be fine, but I’ve been having issues the past two days. I don’t know what I need to do in order to find my center once again. With my self-imposed deadline, I keep thinking it will force me to get back in the game, but I also think the fact it is looming is starting to depress me. I’ve had a very crazy year, with amazing successes and epic failures. I hope things are better tomorrow, and I mean that. I have genuine hope, that tomorrow some new pieces of my nearly completed puzzle will show themselves.

Word count for the day: 0

3 Comments

  1. October 25, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I’m struggling with the same thing right now. When that happens, sometimes it helps to write quickly without caring, then sort through it afterwards to see if anything can be salvaged. Sometimes nothing helps though, and you just have to dredge through it! Keep rockin’.

  2. Katherine said,

    October 25, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I should probably say something inspirational, instead I’m going to say oh that poor man’s wrist!

  3. kyoske said,

    October 27, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    alwaysranting: I got through probably 40% of the middle of this book on the “not caring” steam. In fact that is how I decided to start it. Instead of writing “a great novel” I decided to write “something to publish.” That took a lot of stress off of me. Now that I am close to the end, however, I am consumed with making sure I end it right.

    Katherine: You inspire me daily! Also, I agree. Ouch.


Leave a Reply

