Back on Track

As I had hoped, I am back on track story wise. I wrote 1100 words today. I probably would have written more, BUT, Microsoft Word gave me the following error message:

There are too many spelling or grammatical errors in [document] to continue displaying them. To check the spelling and grammar of this document, choose Spelling and Grammar from the Tools menu.

This meant I spent a great deal of time trying to figure out how to make them show up again. Most of the “errors” they report is grammar related. Word does not like dramatic short statements like: “The golden boy.” or things of that sort. They also hate all colloquial ways of speaking.

After digging around on the internet, I was sad to not find a way to fix the issue. So I decided to start another word document. I don’t like doing this. It makes it feels like a recipe for disaster, like things will get lost.  I am going to have to be even more diligent about backing things up, and copying and pasting the new work into the old work document. I want to know how my total word count is going at all times.

Still, these are rather good problems. My story is over 100 single space 12 font pages in Word. I’ve never gotten close to that in other times. For once, giving up is not a real option. Hopefully I won’t stumble much more on my way to the end of my first rough draft.

2 Comments

  1. katherine said,

    October 27, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I have a new writing goal to get that message!

  2. kyoske said,

    October 27, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    Oh Katherine. Your writing skills are way to good to get it!


Leave a Reply

