Word boost

Today was a great day for me. Probably because last week and this weekend basically resulted in little to no progress. However, today I wrote 2000 words! This is an all time high for me. It was basically 3/4 of a chapter or so, and it was a hard one to write. I know I am not out of the forest yet, as the next chapter is also going to be difficult to write, but after that I think I may be headed for the home stretch. I really only have one detail in my head I can’t figure out how exactly it is going to play out. This is of course a CRUCIAL thing I need to figure out, but fortunately I still have some time to ruminate on it. Like so many things that have happened in the past two months, I feel the answer will present itself to my characters, and also to me.

What I do have is a big sense of accomplishment, which is nice, as it is something I haven’t felt in the past few days. So I’m going to revel in this small victory, and continue thinking on tomorrow.

I think one thing that inspired me was that I joined NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) as an incentive to keep pushing myself. While I have maybe 15,000-20,000 words to go, most people have 50K. Today was the first day, and so I wanted to put a big number up there to start. Hopefully knowing my word count matters even more will be an incentive and not something that paralyzes me.

1 Comment

  1. katherine said,

    November 1, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    I’m so proud of you. It’s just natural to have highs and lows. I’m glad today was a high for you. I also like the idea of having a support network, glad you found one.


Leave a Reply

