New Deadline?

So if this were a movie or a book, my character, me, would find some magic way of writing through the night to finish his book and make his 11.11.11 deadline. I don’t see that happening (I’m not ruling it out) so I’ve decided that what I need to do is be realistic. Now in the next week a lot of things happen. Rehearsals are getting serious, and I’m going to be expected to memorize things, I’m going to be tired from going to late night rehearsals, I’ve got a few social engagements on the calendar, I’ll be purchasing and reading the final book in the Inheritance Cylce, and most notable on a “time suck” basis SKYRIM (the latest installment of Elder Scrolls series) comes out on 11.11.11 (This is why I wanted to be done before that) So how can I set a reasonable deadline from here. Currently my thought is…get it done before I leave for Thanksgiving. Of course, I would rather it be done before that.

IF i make 11/23/11 my new deadline, the odds of me finishing are good. But I am not certain I will finish early, like say next week. I feel like I need to do something to give myself an incentive to finish. I think 11/23/2011 is my goal, but I will force myself not to play SKYRIM until I have written a minimum of 1000 words that day. If I do that, then I am allowed to play it some. That’s my thoughts on the matter at the moment.

I am happy to report my total word count is roughly 73,000 words at the moment. The document shows over 75K but there are a lot of notes to myself, so I’m assuming 73K is more accurate. I’m excited to finish!

2 Comments

  1. Katherine said,

    November 14, 2011 at 12:44 am

    You’re amazing just the way you are. Wait did I just quote a cheesy song? Anyway, 73K is awesome.

  2. rachaeldahl said,

    December 30, 2011 at 1:20 am

    You will get there. Don’t give up. I have a friend who quit his master’s program with only one more class to go and all these years later he regrets it. You are at the one class mark for the first draft and you can’t give up now or you’ll regret it. Hang in there.


Leave a Reply

