Pacing yourself to the end

So with a fully sketched out outline for an ending, all that is left is to write it. My guide has served me well, and each day I end my writing knowing exactly where I will pick-up. This fact should elate me, I should be extremely happy that the ending is in sight once more, and that I will get there soon. However, while those things to make me happy, I am finding that my ability to tell the story does tend to slow down after I hit 1,500 words in a day. This isn’t a bad thing, as that word count is completely respectable, but now that I know how the story ends, my desire to get there faster has never been stronger. This makes me find writer fatigue far more annoying than before, and while I’ve managed to at least get 1,500 words out every day that I write,  it never feels like enough. December is drawing to a close, and if my hopes of getting most of my editing done in January are going to come true, that means I really need to get my first draft fully completed as soon as possible.

I am aware that over the next three days, I won’t get much writing done at all. I am returning home to AR, which I hope will serve as a good bit of inspiration and rest, as when I come back (on Christmas day) I want to finish the year out on a big note.

Here is hoping!

3 Comments

  1. Melanie said,

    December 21, 2011 at 7:05 pm

    Outlines are the only way I can get anything done… Otherwise, my characters end up literally wandering around asking what they’d like to do and being indecisive.

    Proud of your progress! Next up: editland!

  2. December 21, 2011 at 7:47 pm

    Once I write 2000 words and finish polishing it, I always feel like my soul is empty. I rarely write more than that in one go, especially when it’s completely new. Reworking/editing old scenes is much easier than coming up with new stuff. Well that’s just my opinion. Congrats on nearly finishing your first draft.

  3. katherine said,

    December 22, 2011 at 1:58 pm

    Yeah, can’t wait to see you. And I’m so glad the finish line is in site. I always equate word counts to newspaper inches and 1,500 is a lot for one day. (Yes, even when you’ve done the reporting.)


Leave a Reply

