Rough draft is finished – setting the timer

So yesterday, I finished the rough draft of my novel. My word count came in at an impressive 91,524. Now some of that will most certainly be cut, but I also have a few notes to myself that basically say “Come back to this” which means I’ll also be adding. I think my novel will certainly settle in nicely in the area between 85K and 100K words.

Finishing was a great way to start the new year, and I decided to make a pretty decent resolution, one that is extremely attainable. I plan to take the next two weeks off from thinking/working/editing/revising my manuscript. During this time, however, I do plan to do something related to the content. In the novel, the protagonist works very hard to get into “leading man” shape. I plan to devote some time out of each day to replicate this process, so that when I am writing about it, I will have a whole new subset of sensations/sense memories to use to describe the process.

Today is the first day I have not worked on my novel, and I have to admit. I never knew how much writing on it, gave me a sense of purpose. I kind of thought any goal would do, and so I decided to work out and job hunt. Yet even with both of these goals on my mind, I still deeply miss working on my novel. I’m sure to some degree it is just separation anxiety, and that I will probably loathe returning to it. Having read over some earlier portions of the book, I know that my work is far from over. Still, it is strange to fill a day without imagining the lives of my characters, who despite being fictional, I have really come to love spending time with over the past year and a half.

So now, I shall turn the 2 week hourglass over, and let my mind focus on other aspects of my life. Something tells me this means another dark period when it comes to blogging, but who knows. Since I won’t be writing 1,500+ words per day anymore, maybe I’ll want to blog more.

5 Comments

  1. Melanie said,

    January 3, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    Going without writing is something I haven’t been able to get used to. Because my schedule is so hectic and sometimes stress hampers my creativity, I haven’t written in a few weeks. It’s just not the same without my characters. Letting a first draft rest a bit is really good, though … It’ll seem so much fresher when you come back to it. Congratulations on the high word count!

  2. kyoske said,

    January 4, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Thanks!

    Yeah, it is difficult, but hopefully since I am engaging in behavior that is related. I won’t feel so alienated. Still. it’s now basically been 48 hours where I wasn’t in the mind of my narrator. It is a strange feeling.

  3. katherine said,

    January 4, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    I think a break will really give you fresh perspective when you come back to it. You won’t be as attached to ever word and will be able to look at things judiciously. You’ll also probably really like some parts you were unsure of. I’m so proud of you by the way!

  4. rachaeldahl said,

    January 4, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! And I know exactly how you feel when you aren’t spending time on your book. I get antsy, almost like an addict, to return to it. It’s why I didn’t give it the break it needed when I first finished until I was forced too. Thanks to my uncle and his partner for deciding to stay with me for eight days. Along with my husband’s little sister who just had mcl/acl surgery and needed minor catering too. Yes it was busy at the Dahl household and that’s what I recommend for you. Workout, look for a job, read a book, but whatever you do stay far, far away from your novel or you’ll be too tempted to “peek” at it. And another huge congrats to you.

  5. kyoske said,

    January 4, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Hahaha! Wow, that sounds like an intense couple of a days! You are a saint =)

    I hope working out will be enough, though lately it is soooooooo cold, I haven’t felt inspired to do anything that requires me to leave the apartment. Thankfully, I have a yoga mat =)


Leave a Reply

