Fighting the itch

So today is Saturday, and even when I was writing a lot, weekends were times I rarely wrote more than a few hundred words. It’s around 4:00 p.m., and I find myself having a strange feeling. Boredom. My brain immediately is thinking “you can’t really be bored. You haven’t been bored in years.” Which is true for the most part, I’ve had a steady stream of traveling, writing, work, and gaming, to keep me quite content for a long time. So knowing I have the time, I think “I should be writing/working on my novel.” This is of course silly, as I have only been away from my 90K word manuscript for a few days. I know I need more time. Still, the compulsion is there.

So now I’m going to figure out something to do, other than write. Still, I felt like posting something, if for no other reason, to use the nice animated image of Bart attempting to get an electrified cupcake.

2 Comments

  1. derekberry said,

    January 7, 2012 at 6:39 pm

    I tend not to have a lot of time away from work, so I use it to write. But stepping away from the keyboard helps your writing. You get out and see the world, begin to understand a bit more about life. It makes your writing that much better if you take time off.

  2. Katherine said,

    January 8, 2012 at 3:01 pm

    I’m the same way. I like being busy and when I have down time, sometimes I have to remind myself that’s OK.


Leave a Reply

