Decisions in Editing

similar but not the same

So I have started to really get into the actual editing process. The first few chapters of editing were a lot of tiny things, but having read and revised them a lot, the changes were primarily superficial. Over the weekend, however, I had a much harder time. When I am revising and rewriting conversations, I am not not sure which is better.  I am going on instinct and saying that, now that I know my characters better, the new versions are probably better. But the old ones did have some nice zingers, and I am sad to see them go. I try to save them as best as I can, but usually the flow of conversation changes slightly, so they no longer can be used.

I also had to cut my first character, and I am sad about it for many reasons. One, she is inspired by a dear friend. Two, she was one of the very few women in my novel. Now my novel is a LGBT novel, about gay men doing a gay show. The fact that not a lot of women are involved is not shocking, but I am sad about it. My main female character is pretty strong, and I intend on changing her a bit to be even better, but one strong female character in an entire novel (for the record there is a minor character who is also a woman, but she works behind the scenes and is therefore prone to silence) feels a little thin to me. Hopefully I’ll be forgiven.

2 Comments

  1. February 13, 2012 at 4:01 pm

    I’m getting so excited. But you know gay men doing a gay show with no women, sounds fine to me!

  2. kyoske said,

    February 14, 2012 at 6:02 pm

    I’m glad to know I am less judged =)
    This week has been hard to get chapters edited, but I plan on getting to it soon!!! I have one reader who is chomping at the bit for more.


Leave a Reply

