Progress Report

Today I feel about as good as that boy looks!

Today I managed to finish editing chapter 7. My edit was slightly easier because it needed less work. However, it is one of the only sections in the book that has a few paragraphs of text without dialogue to break it up. I know this is probably not an issue for most readers. Books need to have ups and downs, as maintaining anything “one note” will eventually drive a reader away. I’ve tried to take this realization to heart, and that means not freaking out as much about every sentence in my book. I’m technically in round 1 of editing. This round needs to make sure my story is complete, grammatically sound, and as decent as I can get it. It does not mean, it will be perfect. It doesn’t mean an agent will read it, and think, no need to change a word. Let’s go! Expecting that from myself, is insane, so I’ve stopped.

Hopefully this means I will continue to go about editing in a faster/more efficient manner. However chapter 8 has been the one chapter I know will have issues. The reason? Chapter 8 (Which is relatively 80 pages/25K words into the novel) was the last thing I attempted to “write” in my notebook, but I was really having a rough time with it. Part of it was, I didn’t know why I was writing it or where I was going. These things are answered now, but I have the problem that I’m in editing mode, and I need to switch back to writer mode. I need to be able to write without so much care, but having despised editing, I am sure it won’t come so easily. I’ll basically be writing, editing, and rewriting the chapter as I go along.

I’m hoping that as I recognize this issue, I am arming myself with the tools/mindset I need to conquer it.

However, that’s enough negativity/worrying for now. New York City is 70 degrees, so I plan to stroll to rehearsal in the sunshine, listen to some podcasts, and generally live it up.

For those who care, my word count is currently: 90,539 roughly 305 pages.

4 Comments

  1. caedmonrhys said,

    March 9, 2012 at 12:18 am

    I am also working on a novel and likewise have to remind myself to sometimes “just write it”, rough as it is.
    What is your story about?

  2. kyoske said,

    March 9, 2012 at 11:27 am

    Hey Caedmonrhys, it’s nice to get some new traffic to the blog. Thanks especially, for taking the time to comment!

    My novel, “The Role”, is about Mason Burroughs, an actor exhausted by years of constant rejection. Just as he is thinking of abandoning acting forever, his life changes when he runs into Kevin Connors, an old crush from acting school. With a little help from Kevin, Mason is finally given a chance to pursue his dreams, landing a role that could make him the next big Broadway star. However, when his director and co-star pressure him to make compromises that threaten to destroy everything he holds dear, Mason begins to question how much he is willing to give up.

    You can find more information, as well as the current version of the first chapter, by going to:

    http://therole.wordpress.com/

    What is your novel about? I tried looking on your blog, but you’ve not updated in quite some time.

    Thanks again, for stopping by!

  3. Rachael said,

    March 9, 2012 at 4:40 pm

    I find that writing a new chapter is more enjoyable and is easier for me. Good luck.

  4. kyoske said,

    March 9, 2012 at 5:06 pm

    Well as I’m writing it as I type this, I can say it is easier now, than it was when I was struggling, but it still feels strange. Since I managed to tell the story without it, but referenced material I knew it would include, it feels strange to think of adding additional stuff to the chapter. But I need to, since it introduces a character/plot point into the novel.


Leave a Reply

