Waiting while you work

This week started out so well. I was getting lots of editing done, and generally making progress. However, I hit a wall, one that I will figure out eventually, but instead of just being a typical annoyance, it’s hit me harder. Every day that passes me by, I wonder/worry that there is some sort of clock ticking away the time I have with this book. Hundreds of authors query agents each day, and the odds of someone pitching something similar to my story, has started to worry me. I realize this has been an issue before now, but now that I’m close…I worry about this so much more. It takes so much mental energy to constantly maintain the self-control I need to prevent myself from querying agents right now. After all, my book is technically done. But it’s not ready. It’s like I’ve assembled a cake, baked it for 1\3rd of the time it needs, and now I want to pull it out and serve it. Sure I’ve probably cooked enough so that the raw eggs and ingredients won’t kill you, but it won’t be nearly as good as if I had taken the time to let it cook all the way through.

I am lucky, I have time during the day to get a lot of work done, but I still feel the urge to master my query letter to the big name agents who seem to be in good spirits these days. I’ve noticed several agents I have on my list, have accepted people lately. I worry they will feel too overloaded by their new clients, to accept me too.

2 Comments

  1. caedmonrhys said,

    March 19, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    I run into the same fears with my work too. I’ve seen lots of elements of my story show up on other shows, movies and books…it’s frustrating. But I really believe that a good story is always worth telling again in a different way. Good stories, people love to hear again and again. I hope you don’t lose hope. 🙂
    Is any of your work available to be read now?

  2. kyoske said,

    March 20, 2012 at 12:33 pm

    Yes, there is a sample chapter here:
    http://therole.wordpress.com/sample-chapter/


Leave a Reply

