Going back

It occurs to me that the idea of returning is layered over and over in what I want to discuss today. I’m having issues, on Sunday I fixed my 10th chapter, and am now poised to work on chapter 11 (of the book, not Bankruptcy). However, since Thursday of last week, I’ve had a hard time getting back into my former editing groove. Part of this was the wall I hit, part of it was the fear I felt and blogged about, but lately things have felt different. I was ecstatic over fixing chapter 10, but I don’t have anyone who truly shares that joy. Whenever I discuss my book, people are good, and humor me, but part of what got my jazzed about editing, was the faith I had in my manuscript.  I am sad to report, that faith has somehow been shaken.

I think one reason for this is that I had a few prospects of earning some money, which I want to do, so I’ve been distracted. But that shouldn’t make me believe my book is any worse. However, I’m wondering if I had put a lot of faith in my manuscript, because I had nothing else to put my faith in. The job market wasn’t exactly helping me, so I felt compelled to “do something” each day, and that meant hours of editing. Now that things are picking up a little in other aspects of my life (I’m also in a show at the moment) I’ve been distracted.

While these new pick-ups in my life are great, I’m finding it impossible to return to the mindset I was working with before. The one that was convinced that my book was not only excellent, but marketable. I think a big part of the issue is…no one really cares about the book except for me. There’s no reason anyone SHOULD care about a book that is technically written, but by no means finished.  I think this is why a lot of people love writing as a collaboration. It’s so much nicer to have someone to talk to.

Current word count: 91,857

2 Comments

  1. March 20, 2012 at 7:17 pm

    I care. I’m so proud of you.

  2. kyoske said,

    March 21, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    Thanks Katherine.

    I found that after reading back on the long chapter I had just edited, things seemed better. If readers fall in love the my characters as much as I have, then it will be easy to sell =)


Leave a Reply

