Belated post with a celebratory bow

Yeah, that’s a cute guy reading, meaning I finished another chapter. That’s the good celebration part of the post, but I want to write/talk about why I’ve been quiet all week.

The short answer is: I was busy, and had a prescription problem.

I have talked a lot on the blog about my new work stuff, so I won’t bore you with the busy part of the answer, but I do want to talk about my prescription issue.

The issue is pretty simple: I ran out of ritalin. Nowadays I’m very upfront with the fact I take ritalin for ADD/ADHD (I’m diagnosed ADHD, but I self-diagnose as ADD) One of the reasons I talk about it is, I used to be ashamed of it. When I take my pill, I am certainly different. I’m not super needy, and I can focus on whatever task/tasks are in front of me. I eat less, do more, and generally make better decisions. Part of me looks at all of that and thinks: Well…if your brain had “normal” chemistry, you’d do that without medication. So taking it, is just allowing you to be who you want/really are. The other part of me thinks I’m sacrificing the real me, who is spacey, and prone to being happy about anything, for the sake of being productive.

Over time I’ve become more and more at peace with the inner conflict. Which is great….until I ran out of my medication. I noticed that the pharmacy had not given me the appropriate amount of my medication, when I saw that after two weeks of my monthly prescription I was running low. So I went back to the pharmacist, and told them I thought there had been a mistake. They proceeded to make me look like I was abusing my meds. Now I’ve been taking ritalin since I was 15. I’m not saying I couldn’t all of a sudden decide to abuse them, but the odds of them making a mistake is probably higher at this point. Thankfully today I was able to once again refill my prescription (I had to walk 3 miles to find a pharmacy with it on hand) and get back to doing work.

It is my hope that by the time I am refilling my prescription in May. My book will have been editing by me, and will be in the hands of my beta readers. Possibly…agents.

Current Word Count: 91,690

5 Comments

  1. April 13, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    I basically love the “hot guy reading” reward for finishing a chapter’s edits. I also like your definition of “cute guy”.

  2. kyoske said,

    April 13, 2012 at 7:08 pm

    It is pretty fun as a reward.
    I think I’ve got good taste too =)

  3. April 14, 2012 at 1:11 pm

    I don’t think anyone has normal brain chemistry. That boy needs to get inside before the rain comes!

  4. kyoske said,

    April 14, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    What is most amazing about that photo is that it was taken by the model’s mother.

  5. rachaeldahl said,

    April 18, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    I have to agree with Rufus, no one has normal brain chemistry. But I am glad that you take your medication. Bipolar runs in my family and it drives me crazy when my family acts all neurotic because they refuse to take their meds. The real you is a combination of the two. It’s what makes you unique.


Leave a Reply

