Where do I go from here?

I expected today was going to be rough. Today was the first day in several months, I did not work on my book.  After doing plenty of stuff this morning, I felt the very familiar itch to start working on it, but I realized I didn’t know what I needed to do. As it stands, I am pleased with it, and I need to hear from someone other than myself what works and what doesn’t.

I worked a little on revising my query letter, and started filling out a synopsis, but for the most part, I tweeted and facebooked, and did whatever. This left me with a profound lack of purpose, which in turn depressed me. With my novel now in the hands of others, I now am in need of something to distract me from the dwindling amount of jobs out there. I applied for several today, some I might get, but have little hope for any of them. The nice thing was, I got to use my writing skills to type cover letters. The problem is, writing cover letters no one reads, reminds me that the same thing might happen for my book.

It’s not been a great day.

So to attempt to lift my spirits, I shall depart, and take a nice long walk. This has proved therapeutic in the past, and it is also good for me.

2 Comments

  1. James said,

    April 24, 2012 at 5:46 pm

    I’ve been there, on and off lately. I finished one project and it took me a while to get back to the projects I’d put aside for this one. I felt lost, for lack of a better word.

    • kyoske said,

      April 24, 2012 at 6:06 pm

      Thanks for commenting James. On days like today, I need it.
      I think my issue is, I KNEW these feelings would probably come up, and so I felt prepared to handle them. Alas, knowing didn’t seem to help in this case.


Leave a Reply

