Audience Response

There are several big differences between writing a piece of fiction about theatre and actually performing. The one that has struck me lately though, is the lack of collaboration. While it is not unheard of for authors to collaborate, it is far less often than in theatre. Theatre requires collaboration. Actors work within a company to bring a story to life, even shows with a single cast member often have help, with people working the lighting, the sound, the box office. Few stories are performed by one person and one alone in front of a live audience. This is something I miss about writing.

While I wrote as a child, I think I really began to enjoy writing in college. In college I took two courses (Introduction to Fiction and Advanced Fiction) from the same professor. Now I won’t say this professor was the best I ever had, but she did wake me up to enjoying writing. One of the big things about that class that I miss is the feedback. We would read two students’ stories each class, and discuss it and give feedback. It was amazing. I’ve brought portions of my book to writer’s groups. Some were great, but unfortunately, I’ve yet to find one in my area that really works with me.

In theatre you have a director and fellow actors constantly watching you, and responding to what you are putting out there. In writing, the workshop is as close as you can get to something like that. So I am shocked that so few workshops exist. At least, ones that might be of interest to me. I recently joined one, but due to scheduling I’ve not been able to attend the workshops. I’m just not sure why they’ve been so hard to find. Especially since I’m just over the river from New York City.

I think that is why I’ve been a little out of sorts as of late. I’m used to immediate feedback. Since my book is about theatre, I tend to think of it as a piece of it. But it is not, it’s a novel. So I guess I just wanted to talk about that. Although I eventually got used to the fact that writing was a solitary experience, I only now have something to give people for feedback. So I’m once again having to adjust to the fact that this is not the theatre, and therefore feedback is going to be delayed.

2 Comments

  1. April 30, 2012 at 6:08 pm

    Theater or no theater..I’m sure your writings are a first step to a whole life production…your life. Keep it real, speak the truth, and remember we are all watching you perform.

  2. kyoske said,

    April 30, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Dear Social Reaction,

    Well thank you! I do kind of think of writing as a role, and I adore an audience. Thanks for the kind words of encouragement!


Leave a Reply

