Don’t say it, you’ll jinx it

So in the past 24 hours or so I got most of my feedback from my very brave Betas who volunteered to read the full manuscript. It was incredibly humbling, because for the most part I was told I “had a hit” of a novel. I found this especially incredible as several of my betas said “I saw on your blog that you wanted harsh criticism, but I honestly couldn’t think of things to improve.”

What I am mainly taking away from this is the follow kudos:

  1. The characters in my novel are good, and people care about them.
  2. The pacing of my novel is correct, as many people found it difficult to put down.
  3. The plot to my book is engaging, and people generally want to know what happens next.
  4. My terms of art are explained well enough to not be confusing.
  5. All sexual elements in the novel are kept within a certain level of taste

Things Betas have pointed out to varying degrees:

  1. I need help making the first chapter as awesome as the rest of the book.
  2. I need to do some tinkering in the first 100 pages to help sprinkle in some more background on the pre-existing relationships of some characters.
  3. I need to do a “find/replace” and change all “alright” to “all right” (I was misled about which was correct during drafting! *shakes fist in air*)

Thing I always knew in theory, but now feel I have practical experience with:

  1. No matter what. Some people will always wish I had provided more information, while others will find much of the information I supplied as “unnecessary.”

Still, the thing that was most enjoyable about these past 24 hours is that I feel pride in my work. It might have taken a year to write, but clearly it was worth the blood, sweat, and tears!

2 Comments

  1. May 7, 2012 at 9:20 pm

    Yay, I can read your blog again. I kept seeing the posts, but was worried about spoilers or even reading another opinion and it biasing me. It was so awesome to see the whole after so many glimpses. Broken record warning: SOOOO proud of you.

    • kyoske said,

      May 8, 2012 at 2:58 pm

      Where you avoiding it?
      LOL, I don’t think I had any spoilers (which is hard) but thanks for going into the “cone of silence” during your evaluation period.

      The fact that you are proud makes me humble and happy!


Leave a Reply

