Losing

So you might have noticed that for the past month or so, I’ve been pretty good at keeping positive. Alas, today ended my streak. Honestly, today I feel like a loser, especially in the “writer/author” world. I had really hoped to be further along in the fine-tuning process of manuscript, but I have yet to even open the document. The idea of going back even putting in the corrections that my betas have found is exhausting. I keep thinking “What’s the point?” Of course the answer is there “Once it is fine tuned I can begin to query” but today the idea of querying is a lot less exciting than it has been before. I’m not sure if it because the reality of it is soon to come, or if it is because it won’t come soon enough.

I have spent so much time on this book, that it annoys/pains me that it just isn’t done at this point. I’ve taken time away from it, and still love it, but today, I feel burdened by it. It’s this huge rock, which I have chipped away at, and I can start to see the sparkle, but the few steps left to get the last bit of debris out of the way seems so delicate that it is exhausting.

I hope that tomorrow I remember how good it feels to work on my novel, but today, that feeling is not there.

3 Comments

  1. Steve Berman said,

    May 15, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    Any author who tells you they adore their book throughout the writing/revising is either an idiot or lying. It’s brutal.

  2. rachaeldahl said,

    May 19, 2012 at 6:56 pm

    We have all been there at one time or another. Hang in there. In the next day or two sit down and write whether you want to or not. Otherwise, it will get easier and easier to give up on it.

    • kyoske said,

      May 20, 2012 at 3:31 pm

      Thanks. It is really up and down for me as of late.


Leave a Reply

